top of page

Triangle Awards 2023

By David T. Valentin

The Publishing Triangle on May 12th hosted the 35th Publishing Triangle awards at the New School Auditorium in Manhattan.

For the first time, the award ceremony was livestreamed through Publishing Triangle’s social media accounts. The award ceremony can be watched in full on YouTube, which you can find by clicking the link here for more information on Publishing Triangle’s award ceremony.

The winners of the literary awards were:

The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry

Her Birth and Later Years: New and Collected Poems, 1971-2021, by Irena Klepfisz (Wesleyan University Press)

The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry

Invisible History: The Collected Poems of Walta Borawski, by Philip Clark and Michael Bronski (Rebel Satori Press)

The Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature

Togetherness, by Wo Chan (Nightboat Books)

The Joseph Hansen Award for LGBTQ Crime Writing

Survivor’s Guilt, by Robyn Gigl (Kensington Books)

The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction

Boy with the Bullhorn: A Memoir and History of ACT UP New York, by Ron Goldberg (Fordham University Press)

The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

Brown Neon, by Raquel Gutierrez (Coffee House Press)

The Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction

Arribada, by Estela Gonzalez (Cynren Books)

The Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction

Didn’t Nobody Give a Shit What Happened to Carlotta, by James Hannaham (Little Brown & Co)

The Bureau of General Services/Queer Divison received The Michele Karlsberg Leadership Award. Greg Newton and Donnie Jochum stepped away from the table where they were selling books written by the finalists to take the stage and accept the award.

The inaugural Publishing Triangle Torchbearer Award was given to Drag Story Hour NYC. New York City Council Member Erik Bottcher presented the award.

Crisosto Apache was the winner of The Betty Berzon Emerging Writer Award.

bottom of page