Our Recent Posts

Tags

Fan Tries to School Nora Roberts on Publishing: Roberts Teaches Her a Thing or Two

By Lori Perkins


Romancelandia looked on with morbid fascination as a Nora Roberts “fan” tried to tell Nora Roberts how publishing works on the author’s own website, Fall Into The Story, the official blog for fans of Nora Roberts and JD Robb. Anyone who has followed the best-selling author of more than 225 novels knows that Roberts does not suffer fools gladly, and this was definitely the case with “Debra,” who will remain a punch line of romance conferences for years to come.


“Debra” tried to “fansplain” to Roberts that she was allowing her publishing company to delay publication of her latest trilogy for profit only, and when Roberts painstakingly laid out how publishing works, and how many hands have to be involved in order to bring a book to the reader, Debra was having none of it. Finally Roberts just gave her the back of her hand with, “I have personally explained the process to you, Debra. You are not stating facts but opinions. But you continue to contradict me, as you apparently think you know more about publishing than I do, and more than the industry professionals I work with.”


See below for the entire exchange.