top of page

Fergie Signs 22-Book deal with Australian Publisher

By Lori Perkins

Image taken from Sarah Ferguson's Instagram

Yes, you read that right!

Sarah Ferguson, the ex-wife of disgraced Prince Andrew, just signed a 22-book deal with Australian publisher Serenity Press that she says will be based on the various issues of her life from her personal struggles with mental health and eating disorders to family drama. These books are to be young adult titles.

Said the Duchess of York, “Young adults are perhaps the fastest-growing category of new fiction today. There's just something about adolescence — with all its incredible triumphs and heartbreaking failures— that makes it the perfect backdrop for powerful storytelling. I wanted to share my story of growing up with anxiety and an eating disorder, along with witnessing firsthand the effects of generational trauma. For me, it is always present and it all started at the loss of my mother," she explained.

The first book in the series, Demon's Land, will be published in late June. Her debut novel, Her Heart for a Compass, a coming-of-age story based on the story of one of her ancestors, Lady Margaret Montagu Douglas Scott, was published in August of last year and a second novel is scheduled for January 2023.

Of course, Ferguson is not writing these books alone. Co-author Michelle Worthington added that she "always enjoyed my brainstorming and writing sessions with the Duchess.” She said, “She went out of her way to articulate and clarify exactly what messages she wanted to share in the series based on her personal experiences and took the time to listen to mine. Her personalized approach challenged me to improve the manuscript and become the best support I could be to her vision. This series is a testament to her courage."

Since this is a young adult series, we doubt she’ll be writing about what it’s like being the ex-wife of a pedophile.


bottom of page