top of page

The 2021 Lammy Awards

By David T. Valentin

On June 1st, Lambda Literary hosted its 33rd annual Lambda Literary Awards, famously abbreviated as “The Lammys,” which are the literary awards for LGBTQ+ books published during the previous year. Despite a financially rocky year in 2020 in which the non-profit organization planned an array of virtual events, including readings and panels, they had to raise funds to keep afloat. Donations came in from all over and because of the generosity of its members and allies, Lambda Literary was able to stay afloat.

This year, Lambda hosted its first-ever virtual Lambda Literary Awards ceremony, which was available free, in which they announced their 22 award winners for outstanding work in fiction and nonfiction, as well as poetry and graphic novels. In addition to the above awards, four special awards were given: Ana-Maurine Lara received the Randall Kenan Prize for Black LGBTQ Fiction: the Jim Duggins, PhD Outstanding Mid-Career Novelist Prize went to Sarah Gerard and Brontez Purnell; Nancy Agabian received the Jeanne Córdova Prize for Lesbian/Queer Nonfiction and the Judith A. Markowitz Award for Emerging LGBTQ Writers was awarded to Taylor Johnson and T. Kira Madden. Each recipient of an award gave a 30 second speech in which they thanked the organization, their families and friends.

You can view the list of winners at the link here, while also having the opportunity to purchase any of the award winning books.


bottom of page